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0% found this document useful (0 votes)
25 views43 pages

Slot 6 DM 25

Uploaded by

HizkiaYosafat
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
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Teremos

Access
o título dastrategy
Display advertising
apresentação
17 Setembro 2021
Objectives
• Platforms: social and browsing networks
• AIB?
• Why to use DISPLAYS ?
• How to deal with DISPLAY BLINDNESS?

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017)


2
Platforms

Activity Average Time Spent Per Day


Social Media 02:23
Email 02:36
Browsing Websites 02:50
Total Time Online 06:40

Statista.com
3
Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB)
• Founded in 1996
• Sets standards for digital ad specs as well as buying and selling
guidelines
• Comprises over 650 media and tec companies
• Not a legal or government body – however their standards are well
accepted policies

4
Display advertising – website banners

Banners
(used by 76% of
companies)

Average CTR
0.09%
Less than 1 in 1000
click

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017)


5
Display advertising – websites banners

https://megadigital.ai/en/blog/google-display-ads-sizes/
Display advertising – rich media

Rich media
(used by 21% of
companies)

7
Display advertising - video
Formats:
Video - Pre-roll
(used by 71% of companies) - Mid-roll
- Post-roll

Common length: 30´´ or 15´´

Metrics: video completion rate (VCR)

Some ads are skippable


- When ads are skippable, advertisers
only pay if the user watches it.

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017)


Display advertising – social media
• Social Media: each platform has its own formats.

• Image ads
• Story ads
• Video ads
• Carousel ads
• Collection ads
• Shopping ads
• Reels ads

https://blog.hootsuite.com/instagram-ads-guide/ 9
Display advertising – social media
• Social Media: each platform has its own formats.

• Image ads
• Video ads
• Carousel ads
• TopView ads (at the top of user´s feed)
• Branded hashtag challenges
• Branded effects: custom AR filter, sticckers and effects for users to apply in videos

https://blog.hootsuite.com/instagram-ads-guide/ 10
Display advertising

… display advertising is useful in creating Targeting


awareness and image for brands.

… as a traffic builder it performs at an


average CTR level of 0,35% (with great
banners performing up to 3%) …

Two most relevant aspects to consider:

Content format

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017) 11


Display advertising
ii) Indirect: Programmatic (automated purchase)
Targeting: Media types a) Ad Networks which combine various publishers. E.g.: Google
AdSense
b) Ad Exchange platforms which are online media
i) Direct purchase from large marketplaces. It matches ad networks, large publishers and
publishers: supply side platforms (SSP) with advertisers of any kind
organized in trading bureau and in demand side platforms
(DSP). Ex: Google Ad Exchange. These negotiations are
mostly based om Real time Bidding.

https://www.adbutler.com/blog/article/Programmatic-Advertising-vs-
Direct-Media-Buying-Differences-Explained#What-Is-Direct-Media-
Buying?
Display advertising

Targeting: criteria Website-based: Which targets a set of websites, based on some


criteria, and show ads to all users on those sites.

• Managed Placements: A managed placement target is the most direct way to target a
website. Simply choose the website(s) or pages you want to show your ad and you’re done!

• Topic Targeting: Topic allows you to target all sites and pages about a certain pre-
defined topic.

• Keyword Contextual Targeting: Keyword contextual targeting is similar to topic


targeting, but less restrictive.

16
https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2015/02/10/google-display-network-targeting
Display advertising

User-based: Which targets a set of users, based on some criteria,


Targeting: criteria
and shows them ads on all sites they visit.

• Remarketing: allows you to serve ads to previous • Interests: Interest targeting matches
visitors of your site as they navigate the web. Third your ads to users who recently started
partie cookies in most cases. viewing sites of the same topic. Third
partie cookies in most cases.
• Similar Audiences: allows you to attract new
users to your site who have similar browsing and • Affinity: is similar to interest targeting,
search behavior as those already on your remarketing but it matches your ads to users who
lists. Third partie cookies in most cases. habitually visit sites of the same topic.
Third partie cookies in most cases.
• In-Market Audiences: shows your ad to users
whose search and internet browsing behavior • Geolocation/ timing
indicates that they may be “in-market” for a certain
• Demographics
product or service. Third partie cookies in most cases.
https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2015/02/10/google-display-network-targeting
Display advertising

Targeting: In Meta

• Custom audience

• Lookalike audience

18
Display advertising
• Why you doing sponsored ads in social media? In view of low organic reach
and control of brand presence, brands need to invest in display ads in social media.

< 10k followers: 26.6% . < 10k followers: 11% .


50k-200k followers: 18.3% 50k-200k followers: 5%
>200K followers: 8% >200K followers: 2%

https://digitalbrandinginstitute.com/improve-your-organic-reach-on-facebook/
https://www.quintly.com/blog/instagram-reach
19
Display advertising

Content formats

o Apply more efficient content


formats: design messages adapted
to the target

o Generative AI is expected to allow this


in a more efficient manner

21
Display advertising

Clear branding and CTA UVP Adapted to various formats

https://www.makeitbloom.com/blog/14-design-best-practices-for-display-ads-with-examples-2023/
Display advertising

Content formats

o Apply more efficient


content formats:
Click-to-button

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017) 23


Display advertising

Content formats

o Apply more Efficient


content formats:
Native/Advertorials

Native advertising is the use of paid ads


that fit seamlessly into the media where
they appear. They blend in to match the
content so that they don’t disrupt the
viewer’s experience. In this way,
advertisers can post content that hooks
viewers’ attention by not being an
obvious ad.
Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017) 24
25
Display advertising

o Dynamics: Bidding in programatic (Real time bidding 85% of


Targeting: Pricing Models purchases) and Fixed rates in Direct and programatic deals
(15% of deals in programatic)

o Based on:
o vCPM (viewable Cost per mille): awareness (cost for 1000 impressions)
o CPC (Cost per click): traffic (most often used in programatic)
o CPA (Cost per action): sales or other goals (most often in
programatic)

• Pricing models are intended for different objectives


concerning the sales funnel.

• The media platform optimizes the impression


according to the type of pricing rational

Chaffey D., and Smith PR. (2017) Larson and Draper (2022) Digital Marketing Essentials. Edify. 27
Display advertising – purchase models

•CPM: It is Cost Per Mille. CPM is additionally called CPT, i.e., cost per thousand, and that implies we want
to pay the cost on every 1000 impressions. For instance, if CPM is $10, it means the cost of 1000 impressions
is $10. vCPM: this measure is available for some Display Networks and Video and considers A display ad is
counted as viewable when at least 50% of its area is visible on the screen for at least 1 second.
• For large display ads of 242,500 pixels or more, the ad is counted as viewable when at least 30% of its
area is visible for at least 1 second.
• A video ad is counted as viewable when at least 50% of its area is visible on the screen while the
video is playing for at least 2 seconds.
•CPA: It is Cost Per Action. It is the expense spent on clicks/conversion. For instance, your promotion drew
1000 clicks at $100, and you accomplished 100 conversions. So, your CPA is $10 at this point. The lower CPA
value implies great conversion rate.

•CPC: It is Cost per click. Similar to CPM, CPC is also a measurement used in online advertising. The only
difference is that this cost is based on clicks and not impressions. If any user is shown the Ad but then if they
don’t click on it, there won’t be any charge as the cost is based on clicks only. For instance, if CPC is $3, it
means every click costs $3, so 20 clicks will cost you $60.
28
Exercise: from the brief to the media costs
Consider you work for Aura (smart ring for tracking performance). Target audience is
sport people.

a) In the following page, develop the briefing for the display campaign,
Upload it to Dalle or other GPT for image. Do you like the image proposed?

b) In this page, decide the targeting criteria you would use for the display campaign. Estimate
how much budget would be necessary for reaching 200.000 people and retargeting them 5 times.

Content Topic Banner Format Typical Size(s) Estimated CPM (USD) Notes
News Leaderboard 728x90 pixels $0.40 - $1.50 High traffic but lower CPM due to general audience
News Skyscraper 160x600 pixels $0.30 - $1.20 Good for side placements, less engagement
Technology Rectangle 300x250 pixels $2.00 - $4.00 Tech audiences engage well with targeted ads
Technology Responsive Varies $1.80 - $3.50 Adapts well to tech-savvy users on various devices
Lifestyle Rich Media Varies $2.50 - $5.00 High engagement with interactive content
Lifestyle Leaderboard 728x90 pixels $1.50 - $3.00 Effective for visual and lifestyle elements
Finance Rectangle 300x250 pixels $3.00 - $6.00 High-value content attracts premium advertisers
Finance Rich Media Varies $3.50 - $7.00 Interactive tools like calculators boost engagement
Health Skyscraper 160x600 pixels $1.00 - $2.50 Health-conscious users engage with targeted ads
Health Responsive Varies $1.20 - $3.00 Responsive formats perform well in health topics
Education Rectangle 300x250 pixels $0.80 - $2.00 Educational content varies widely, affecting CPM
Education Leaderboard 728x90 pixels $0.70 - $1.80 Useful for educational tools and resources
Data for USA
Ex.
Topic: Technology Responsive Show calculations
Number of impressions: 200,000 x 5 = 1.000.000 impressions
Budget: 1,000,000/1000*3,5= 3,500 eur
Exercise: from the brief to the media costs
o Marketing objective:
awareness (brand) acquisition, Draft
retention, expansion (customer).

o Communication Target:

o Communication objective:
what you want consumer to think, do
and feel in response to your display
ad.
o Targeting criteria

o Key messages:

https://chatgpt.com/g/g-
o Mandatory elements and
681b00f3dd1881918ff500745bc14d4
display format:
9-display-campaign
Exercise: Understanding Return on Ad spend and ROI of ad

• Investment on display:
• Total investment: 10,000 EUR;
• Number of impressions: 2,500,000;
• CTR: 0,4%
• Number of transactions: 10%;
• Incremental sales: 20,00 EUR.

• Gross margin: 70% (sales-cost of goods)


Show calculations

• Was it efficient ?
ROAS: return on ad spend
(Incremental sales/ investment)

ROI of ad: return on investment Revenue: 2.500.000 x 0,004 x 0,1 x 20= 20.000
((Incremental sales* Gross margin-adv.investment-
ROAS: ((20.000)/10.000)= 2 (moderate)
adv. investment)/ adv. Investment)*100 ROI of ad: ((20.000*0,7-10.000)/10.000)*100= 40% (good)
Teremos
Access
o título dastrategy
Email marketing
apresentação
17 Setembro 2021
Email Marketing

• It works at:

Sales = Clients x Frequency x Average purchase x Retention

43
Objetives
• What drives email efficiency?
• Types of email funnels? Life-cycle and Transaction?
• Good practices?
• Avoid spammy words?
• A/B Testing?
• Automation?

44
Email marketing: average perfomance

https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2017/08/03/email-vs-social-media-ads

45
Exercise

• What drives email efficiency?

Consider as efficiency metrics:

o Delivery Rate
o Open Rate
o Click-to-open
o Conversion rate
Steps of an email marketing plan

• Definition of SMART objectives


• Define/Review the Database Structure (fields to be used to qualify the database)
• Define your email acquisition strategy
• Consider GDPR and consent
• Define email marketing automation platform
• Types of emails: sales funnel and relational
• Define audience, database segmentation criteria to consider, and level of personalization
• Content plan by target audience:
• Objective: promotional, or not (educational, informational, entertainment, pastime, reward).
• Target regarding phase in sales funnel level (top, middle, or bottom of the funnel)
• Target Persona
• Keywords of interest
• Content, landing page and calendar

• A/B Testing
• Optimization.
Email Marketing

Plan for execution

• Use a familiar sender


• Work on a good title with CTAs (avoid spammy words)
• Decide for the best time of the day
• Personalization
• Fit between email and landing page
• Responsive design for mobile
• Automation (email systems, CRM systems)
• Segmentation and targeting of email lists
• A/B testing of emails

48
Email marketing: Spammy words

•#1 •No purchase necessary


•100% free •Offshore
•Ad •Opt-in
•Best price •Promise you
•Buy now •Risk free
•Celebrity •Stock alert
•Cheap •Success
•Discount •This isn't spam
•Earn extra cash •Trial
•Free •While supplies last
•Free installation •We hate spam
•Great offer •You are a winner!
•Incredible deal
•Lambo
•Limited time offer
•No hidden

49
Email marketing: automation

Plan for Funnel Strategy: Transactions

Review for use

Confirm Confirm Confirm delivery Satisfaction


Check-out
Login purchase conditions post purchase

Service
Follow-up Recovery
abandoned
Check-out

50
Email marketing: automation
Objectives
Plan for Funnel Strategy: Life-cycle Notoriety
Inform
Educate
Branding
Newsletter Credibility

Cold emails
Co-branded emails Campaigns
Collect emails in Welcome
(e.g. sales, events) Generate traffic
events and website(*) Conversions
… Customer
Not purchased Support
- (*) Entry page CTA (e.g. Satisfaction
subscription, offer) Loyalty
- Create login Active … Average
purchase value
Not active …

51
Email marketing: Types of content

Infographics
News
Podcasts
Brand news
How to use

Email marketing: Link with brand hub

This is a GOOD example

Larson and Draper (2022) Digital Marketing Essentials. Edify.


Email marketing: Link with brand hub

This is a BAD example – the


user clicks on the email and
gets lost!

Larson and Draper (2022) Digital Marketing Essentials. Edify.


Email marketing: A/B testing for landing page
Improve Landing pages (A/B testing)

Larson and Draper (2022) Digital Marketing Essentials. Edify. 55


Email marketing: A/B testing

Results from an A/B Testing


Abandoned shopping cart follow-up email:

- Generic branded follow-up email: +10% vs.


regular conversion rate

- Personalized retargeting with a promo 5 eur within


72h: +100% vs. regular conversion rate

- Personalized retargeting with promo 5 eur within


48h.: +200% vs. regular conversion rate

56
Email marketing: metrics
• Delivery Rate (Emails Delivered / Total Number of Emails Sent) * 100%
• Open Rate = (Number of Emails Opened / Total Number of Emails Delivered) * 100%
• Click-to-open Rate = number of recipients who clicked a link or CTA in the email / number of
recipients who opened the email
• Click Rate = number of recipients who clicked a link or CTA in the email / number of emails
delivered
• Conversion rate = number of email recipients who took the desired action from an email sent /
number of interactions on an email by a recipient * 100%

• Bounce Rate = (Total Number of Bounced Emails / Total Number of Emails Sent) * 100%
• Spam Rate = (Emails Marked as Spam / Total Number of Emails Sent) * 100%
• Unsubscribe Rate = (Total Number of Unsubscribes / Total Number of Delivered Emails) * 100%
• Email List Growth Rate = (Total Number of Leads at the Start of a Workday / Total Number of Leads at the End of a Workday)
* 100%
In sum
• What drives email efficiency.
• Types of email funnels? Life-cycle and Transaction.
• Good practices.
• Avoid spammy words.
• A/B Testing.
• Automation.

59

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