Module 07
Mobile Marketing
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
Module Structure: Mobile Marketing
1. Understand Micro-moments 12. Local SEO
2. How to Win Micro-moments 13. Google Business Profile (GBP)
3. Mobile SEO 14. Create GBP Account
4. Optimize for Voice Search 15. Optimize GBP with Photos
5. Mobile Site Configuration 16. GBP Performance Reports
6. Responsive Web Design 17. Understand Schema Markup
7. Viewport 18. Add Schema Markup
8. Mobile Friendly Site 19. Mobile Advertising
9. Optimize Mobile User Experience 20. Google Local Search Ads
10. Understand Page Speed 21. Understand Performance Max
11. Improve Page Speed 22. Performance Max for Store Goal
23. Google Mobile Ads Statistics 2
Understand
Micro-moments
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 3
Mobile is ”Always On”
▪ We check our phones 150 times/day on average, in and out of home.
▪ Mobile device use has already transformed how consumers access online
content for entertainment, socializing and shopping.
▪ Customer journey is fragmented into hundreds of real-time, intent-driven
micro-moments by mobile.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Deloitte Red House 4
What are Micro-moments
▪ Intent-rich moments when consumers turn to their smartphones to find
something, go somewhere, do something, or buy something.
▪ In those moments, consumers expect brands to address their needs with
real-time relevance.
▪ Brands who can identify and cash in on micro-moments will ultimately win
the mobile marketing game.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 5
I-Want-to-Know:
Trigger Searches for Information
• Consumer in this type of micro-moment is in the
research phase of the buyer’s journey.
• This person isn’t necessarily looking to buy something.
They’re merely looking for information.
• Their query was triggered by a conversation, passing
thought, something they heard or saw, and everything
in between.
• Try to offer useful content, but do not impose a
purchase.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 6
I-Want-to-Go Moments:
Lead to Searches about Places & Events
• Consumer is looking for a specific location – maybe a
grocery store, gas station, nail salon, or doctor’s office.
• Queries that fall under this category are often followed
by the phrase, “near me ( 附近 )”.
• “Near me” searches have doubled in 2018, and 82% of
smartphone users go to a search engine when looking
for a local business.
• Get into the consumer’s field of view where they’ll look
for the nearest option.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 7
I-Want-to-Do Moments:
Signal a Need for Guidance with a Task
• These micro-moments often occur in form of a “how to
( 如何 )”, which typically come from consumers looking
for guidance, instructions, or demonstrations.
• Whether the person is looking for a way to fix a leaking
pipe or a broken washing machine, these queries occur
frequently.
• “How-to” searches are growing by a rate of 70% year-
over-year on YouTube, and 91% of smartphone users
turn to their phones for ideas or advice while doing a
task.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 8
I-Want-to-Buy Moments:
Occur when People are Interested in Buying
• Person in this type of micro-moment is actively seeking to
make a purchase, but is open to suggestions in terms of type
and brand.
• Purchases that happen in micro-moments are typically more
impulsive and low risk.
• E.g., “I want to buy” moment may occur when a consumer
runs out of a household supply, or sees someone wearing a
denim jacket and wants to buy their own.
• Sometimes this micromotion overtakes the consumer when
they’re standing in front of the goods at a shop window.
Should they happen to search for where prices are lower, the
situation can prove advantageous for a competing store.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 9
How to Win
Micro-moments
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 10
1. Identify Moments Leading Customer to Your Site
▪ Use “Performance” report in Google Search Console to identify what types of
queries your prospects search during their micro-moments.
▪ Use Case: a Causeway Bay Yoga Studio
▪ Yoga studio may find that most of their website traffic comes from search queries
like, “ 銅鑼灣 瑜伽” , “yoga in causeway bay,” “one-day yoga pass,” “yoga near me,”
and “ 銅鑼灣 yoga class.”
銅鑼灣 瑜伽
yoga in causeway bay
one-day yoga pass
yoga near me
銅鑼灣 yoga class
銅鑼灣 yoga
空中瑜伽 銅鑼灣
銅鑼灣空中瑜伽
© Copyright 2024 by 香港 Yoga Studio
11
Larry Leung
yoga 港島
2. Identify Where Customer Turn for Assistance
▪ Use “Links” report in Google Search Console to look into your top referrers.
▪ May see some popular review sites or forum like OpenRice, Baby-Kingdom,
HKDiscuss, Uwants, HKGolden, or LIHKG in your list of referrers.
▪ This information will help you figure out where your prospects are most likely to turn
during micro-moments.
baby-kingdom.com
backpackers.com.tw
discuss.com.hk
hkgolden.com
lihkg.com
© Copyright 2024 by 12
Larry Leung she.com
3. Create & Deliver Well-timed, Relevant Content
▪ Let’s say the most impactful micro-moments occur when tourists use their
smartphones to research affordable yoga classes to try in Causeway Bay.
▪ Using this information, yoga studio decides to create a new pricing model.
They start to offer convenient one-day, two-day, and three-day passes.
▪ Then, they optimize their pricing page with keywords like “affordable yoga
for tourists in Causeway Bay,” “yoga pass for visitors,” and “Causeway Bay
yoga day pass.””
▪ When tourists search for fitness options while on vacation, yoga studio
appears among the first results.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 13
4. Simplify Mobile Purchase Process
• Because you already know most micro-moments take place via smartphone,
it’s important to optimize buying process for mobile devices.
• Test your website and landing pages on a variety of devices and enter the
sales funnel through all imaginable outlets.
• Cover all your bases to ensure a
seamless experience no matter
the device, channel, or platform.
• Modern buyers are all about
convenience and efficiency. Even
the smallest bottleneck, snag, or
inefficiency can deter customers
from working with your business.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Designmodo 14
Mobile SEO
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 15
Why Mobile SEO is Important
• Since April 21st 2015, Google has been using mobile friedliness as a
stronger ranking factor that "significantly" affects rankings worldwide.
• In March 2018, Google began to roll out its mobile-first indexing features.
Google will use the mobile version of a web page “for indexing and ranking,
to better help our – primarily mobile – users find what they’re looking for.”
• 58% of all searches in Google are now done from a mobile device.
Desktops
Mobile Devices
0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70%
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 16
Before Google’s Mobile-First Indexing
• Google ran 2 indexes side-by-side:
a mobile version and desktop
version.
• If someone searched from an
iPhone, Google would show them
results from their mobile index.
• If someone searched for
something on a desktop, they’d get
“desktop results”.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 17
After Google’s Mobile-First Indexing
• Today, no matter what device you
use, Google shows you search
results from their mobile index.
• Google ranks the search results
based only on mobile-version of
web page. This occurs even if
you’re searching from a desktop.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 18
Optimize Title Tags for Mobile SERPs
• Google gives you MORE title tag characters to work with on mobile:
• Desktop Title: Around 60 Characters (30 Chinese Words)
• Mobile Title: Around 78 Characters (39 Chinese Words)
• If desktop only makes up a small chunk of your traffic? It may be worth it
for the CTR bump you’ll receive with a longer title tag on mobile.
Desktop Title: 31 words Mobile Title: 44 words
• Note: Meta description average length for mobile
search results is 120 characters and is shorter
than desktop (160 characters).
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 19
Website Design for Mobile
• Don't Use Pop-ups
• Pop-ups can be difficult and frustrating to try and
close these on a mobile device. This might lead to
a low engagement rate.
• Google rolled out an algorithm change in 2017 that
penalizes websites that serve specific types of pop-
ups on mobile devices.
• Design for Fat Finger
• Touch screen navigation can lead to accidental
clicks if your buttons are too big, too small, or in the
path of a finger that's trying to get the page to
scroll.
• Make buttons 45-57 pixels tall to match the size of
adult fingertips.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 20
Optimize for
Voice Search
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 21
Use of Voice Assistants to Find Info in 2024
• 29.8% global users and 25.3% Hong Kong users utilize voice assistants (e.g. Siri) to find
information each week.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: We Are Social 22
Use of Voice Assistants by Age & Gender in 2024
• People aged 25 to 34 are more likely to use voice assistants to find information each week.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: We Are Social 23
Focus on Question Keywords
• Voice search queries are different than standard questions. People speak differently than the
way they type, so you need to account for that in your optimization strategy.
• E.g., someone might type “how to make fried chicken” on a desktop, but on voice search,
they would say, “How do I make fried chicken?” It’s subtle, but these search queries differ
because voice search is a conversation.
• To find question keywords (i.e., long-tail keywords), think of “who,” “what,” “when,” “where,”
and “how” questions that users are most interested in. Include these in the copy on your
pages (like in H1 or H2) and give them a concise, satisfying answer afterward. You can also
go into more detail in the body of your content after your initial answer.
• Try to take inspiration from the
“Related Searches” or the “People
Also Ask” sections of the Google
search results page to see which
questions your audience asks the
most.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 24
Create FAQ Content
• Most voice searchers begin their search with a
question that starts with "Who, What, Why, How,
When." It means they need an immediate and
short description as the answer to their question.
• List the questions on one of your site’s pages,
then simply follow them up with answers.
• Make them detailed, but not too long; users
prefer quick answers, and voice search answers
tend to be on the shorter side, too.
• You must answer all these questions in a
conversational tone to appeal to the voice
search.
• You must make sure that the navigation and
informational structure is easy to find and your
page loads at a good speed. FAQ with
Short
Answer
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 25
Mobile Site Configuration
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 26
3 Types of Mobile Site Configuration
Responsive Dynamic Serving Parallel URLs
(Separated Mobile Site)
URL 1 URL 1 URL 2 URLs
desktop = phone desktop = phone desktop ≠ phone
HTML 1 HTML code 2 HTML codes 2 HTML codes
desktop = phone desktop ≠ phone desktop = phone
Content Content will adapt to Content will show Server will redirect to the right
the user’s device depending on the device website depending on the device
screen size. used by the user. used by the user.
Examples • bbc.com • google.com • www.mclcinema.com (desktop)
• cnn.com • amazon.com • m.mclcinema.com (mobile)
• unwire.hk • www.mingpao.com (desktop)
• m.mingpao.com com (mobile)
• zh.wikipedia.org (desktop)
• zh.m.wikipedia.org (mobile)
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 27
Parallel URLs (Separate URLs)
▪ With this setup, you have the “main” desktop version of your site. You also have a
mobile version (“M.”) version of your site.
▪ Your site figures out what device your visitor is using… and then directs them to a
URL optimized for that device.
▪ “M.” sites have a host of SEO issues (like the fact that you need multiple URLs for
every piece of content on your site AND that it requires complicated “rel=canonical”
and “rel=alternate” tags).
▪ Worst way to configure your site for mobile SEO.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 28
Case Study – MCL Cinema Website
▪ With Parallel URLs configuration, mclcinema.com delivers a separated desktop site
for desktop users, and a dedicated mobile-friendly site for smartphone users.
Desktop Site URL: Mobile Site URL:
www.mclcinema.com m.mclcinema.com
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 29
Parallel URLs – Reduce Duplicated Content
• How to link up your Desktop & Mobile Page by Meta Code?
On Desktop Page On Mobile Page
(https://www.example.com/page-1) (https://m.example.com/page-1)
Add Alternate Media Tag: Add Canonical Tag:
<link rel="alternate" media="only screen and (max-width: <link rel="canonical"
640px)“ href="https://m.example.com/page-1"> href="https://www.example.com/page-1">
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Google 30
Dynamic Serving
• When you serve content dynamically, all of your
content is on the same URL. But you show each
user different HTML/CSS depending on the
device they’re using.
• If you visit www.example.com on a desktop, you’d
get served a pre-made desktop version of the
site.
• But if you visit site from your iPhone, you will still
be on www.example.com, but would get shown
the Phone version of webpage.
• Definitely better for SEO than having an “M.”
version of your site.
• But it need to constantly create different versions of your
content for new devices that come out. If you don’t, your
site may not recognize a new device… and show them a
version that looks terrible on that device.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Found Digital 31
Responsive Web Design
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 32
What is Responsive Web Design (RWD)
• A modern web design approach that allows
websites and pages to display well on all
devices and screen sizes by automatically
adapting to the screen and device.
• Web browser will be delivered the same HTML
code, from the same URL address, regardless
the device: desktop, tablet, or phone.
• With flexible templates, CSS and JavaScript, a
responsive site adjusts images, template layouts
and content immediately according to the screen
size of a device.
• Optimize your site experience across different
screen sizes without creating multiple websites.
• Documentation: web.dev/responsive-web-
design-basics/
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Found Digital 33
Responsive Web Design
• With Responsive Design, your page’s layout and content responds to each
individual user.
Examples :cnn.com
bbc.com
ft.com
nytimes.com
unwire.hk
nearsnake.com
Desktop View URL: Tablet View URL: Phone View URL:
www.bbc.com www.bbc.com www.bbc.com
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 34
Responsive Design vs Dynamic Serving
Responsive Web Design Dynamic Serving
Pros • Easier accessibility, with no device • Less confusion among your users, because
detection / URL redirection necessary. of the single URL.
• Easier to maintain, less implementation • Easier to adjust, letting you interfere
issues. exclusively on one particular screen size,
• Easier to optimize for search engines. leaving everything unchanged.
• Faster page load times.
• Easier to optimize for search engines.
Cons • Longer load time for large pages. • Technical implementation is complicated.
• Less flexibility in terms of user • Maintenance costs are higher.
experience. • Must have a highly capable IT staff to
• Higher risk of data bloating, making users manage all the code requirements and
download unnecessary information. content updates.
• Higher chances of failing in optimizing
both the desktop and the mobile
experience, if not carefully planned.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 35
Responsive Web Design is SEO-friendly
• In terms of being SEO-friendly, Responsive Website Design blows all other
options out of the water.
• Why?
• All of your content is on a single URL – good for sharing and getting links).
• Minimal SEO headaches (e.g., no “canonical tags, duplicate content issues).
• Insanely user friendly.
• No redirects which cause technical SEO issues and can slow down your site.
• If you’re still not convinced, Google recommends responsive layouts because
it's the easiest design pattern to implement and maintain.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 36
Viewport
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 37
Viewport of Responsive Web Design
• Viewport is user's visible area of a web page.
• Vary with the device, and will be smaller on a mobile phone than on a computer
screen.
• Before tablets and smartphones, web pages were designed only for computer
screens, and it was common for web pages to have a static design and a fixed size.
• When we started surfing the internet using tablets and mobile phones, fixed size
web pages were too large to fit the viewport.
• To fix this, browsers on those devices scaled down the entire web page to fit the screen.
• This was not perfect!!
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 38
Viewport Meta Tag
• HTML5 introduced a method to let web designers take control over the
viewport, through a special meta tag — <meta name="viewport“>.
Without Viewport With Viewport
Meta Tag Meta Tag
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 40
Syntax of Viewport Meta Tag
• Following parameters in viewport meta tag give web browser instructions
on how to control the page's dimensions and scaling.
• width=device-width
• Set the width of the page to follow the screen-width of the device (which will
vary depending on the device).
• initial-scale=1.0
• Set the initial zoom level when the page is first loaded by the browser.
<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0">
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 41
Initial-scale Parameter
Without Initial-scale With Initial-scale
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 42
Common Parameters in Viewport Tag
Parameter Min. Range or Setting 1 Max. Range or Setting 2
width=device-width [number]px device-width
height=device-height [number]px device-height
initial-scale=0.25 Min. : 0.25 Max. : 5.0
minimum-scale=0.5 Min. : 0.25 Max. : 5.0
maximum-scale=5 Min. : 0.25 Max. : 5.0
user-scalable=no Yes No
• user-scalable="no“
• Disable browser zoom on a web page.
• maximum-scale
• Limit the amount the user can zoom.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 43
Case Study – HKET’s Viewport Meta Tag
Format: <meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0, user-
scalable=no">
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 44
Mobile Friendly Site
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 45
Criteria of Mobile-Friendly Site
• Presents content well on a phone.
• Not need to pinch / zoom.
• Easily readable on small screens.
• Easy to navigate with a finger.
• Understood properly by Google.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 46
Mobile Usability in Search Console
• Head over to your Search
Console account, then click
on “Mobile Usability”.
• Or navigate to:
search.google.com/search-
console/mobile-usability
• Google will let you know if
mobile users have trouble
using your site.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 47
Google Mobile-Friendly Test
• Page Availability – Whether
Google was able to crawl page,
when it was crawled, or any
obstacles that it encountered
when crawling the URL.
• HTTP Headers – The HTTP
header response returned from
the inspected URL.
• Page Screenshot – The
rendered page as seen by
Google.
• URL:
search.google.com/test/mobile-
friendly
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 48
Chrome Developer Tool
• Run Google Chrome: Press 🡪 Developer Tool
Windows:
Ctrl + Shift + I
Mac OS:
Cmd + Opt + I
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 49
Optimize
Mobile User Experience
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 50
Make Content Easy to Read on Phones
• Text should always be large enough to read comfortably. Use at least 14px font (I
prefer 15 or 16).
• Users should never have to zoom in – or scroll left or right – to read something.
• Make sure there’s tons of contrast between text and background (people use
phones outside, which can make low-contrast text harder to read).
Difficult to Read on Phones Easy to Read on Phones
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 51
Craft Shorter Copy
• Cut Anything You Can, Without Sacrificing Clarity
• Goal is to be brief, not to cut out key points that will make or break your
message. If something adds value, leave it.
• Keep Sentences and Paragraphs Short
• Sentences and paragraphs should both be short and easy to read.
• Use short paragraphs (1-2 lines per paragraph).
• Go with a line length between 50-60 characters.
• No walls of text on your page. Breaking up the text keeps the visitor interested
and makes it easier to find key points.
• Use Bullet Points
• Get key points across in smaller chunks without having to use supporting copy
around them.
• Draw the visitor’s eye, making them less likely to be overlooked.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 52
Single Column Layout
• Mobile webpages do not need multiple
columns.
• Mobile devices do not have room for them
and anything more than a single column
makes navigation and scrolling feel really
cumbersome and clunky.
• Case Study: 759 Store Official Site
• Seem to not actually have a mobile site
and is just using their regular desktop site
for all devices.
• URL: www.759store.com/promotion.php
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 53
Case Study – ULifestyle Website
• Now let’s look at ULifestyle mobile landing page. Not super exciting, but much
easier to use and read in mobile device.
• URL: www.ulifestyle.com.hk
© Copyright
2024 by Larry 54
Leung
Make Header Images Really Small
• Mobile Google users want their answer • Instead, either delete them or make
NOW. Which means you don’t want to use them smaller for mobile visitors, like
giant header images, like this: this:
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 55
Use Lots of Negative Space
• Negative space is the space between
text, buttons and design elements, and is
REALLY important for mobile sites.
• On a desktop, you can get away with a
cluttered page. But on a phone, a
cluttered page is IMPOSSIBLE to use.
• Using lots of negative space is one
simple way to improve your site’s dwell
time and bounce rate.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 56
Consider Hand Position Controls
• Research findings on how people hold and interact with their mobile phones found
that 49% of people rely on one thumb. This statistic is useful to keep in mind when
designing to accommodate for the thumb’s reach zone.
• Common features should be placed in easily accessible regions, while actions such
as delete buttons should be placed in areas harder to reach to avoid errors.
• Delivering a great mobile UX
takes into consideration all
different types of users.
Keeping in mind right- and
left-handedness is also a
design feature to consider.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Uxbert 57
Simplify Menus
• Mobile-friendly websites should use
simple menus that present an
overview of the website. Users can
then use categories, filters, or the
search feature to hone in on what
they’re looking for.
• Most mobile-friendly websites use
the hamburger symbol – consisting
of 2 or 3 horizontal lines – to
indicate a menu.
• Case Study: HKTVmall
• When users tap 3-line hamburger
menu in top-right of the screen,
they’ll be shown a full-screen menu
with large buttons and text.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 58
Minimize Data Input
• Typing on small devices can be annoying. What you can do is work around the
problem by minimizing the need to enter data in your designs.
• Help them reduce typing required by shortening forms, removing unnecessary fields
and using “remember me” options for future use.
• Relieve users by providing
autocomplete, recent search history
and location detection to reduce data
entry requirements and accelerate the
experience.
• A rule of thumb in form design is that
shorter is better. Minimize the number
of fields as much as possible.
Displaying only 3 to 5 input fields at a
given time is a common practice.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Luke Wroblewski 59
Create Eye-Catching Calls-to-Action (CTA)
• It can be challenging to create compelling CTA with
such limited screen space to play with.
• When creating CTAs for your mobile-friendly website,
make them stand out by placing them above the fold
where users can see them without having to scroll
down.
• Case Study: Lenovo eShop
• In this mobile website, you can see 2 banners featuring
CTA.
• First one promotes 40% off to upgrade RAM & SSD
and 10% off to buy Microsoft Office for customized
notebook model.
• Second prompts users to learn more about the brand’s
limited time rewards for notebook purchase.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 60
Use Sticky Header
• Even though screen real estate is precious on mobile
site, it’s important to keep your navigation you’re
using for your mobile site accessible.
• Sticky headers (or persistent headers) are a
common pattern for keeping the header of a website
or app in the same place on the screen while the
user scrolls down the page.
• Sticky navigation lets visitors find what they’re
looking for about 22% faster, which is a big deal for
mobile website.
• Sticky Headers Documentation:
www.w3schools.com/howto/howto_js_sticky_header.
asp
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 61
Understand Page Speed
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 62
What is Page Speed
• Page speed is the speed for a sample of page views on a site, which can
be described in:
• Page Load Time: The time it takes to fully display the content on a specific
page.
• Time to First Byte: How long it takes for your web browser to receive the first
byte of information from the web server.
• A slow page speed means that search engines can crawl fewer pages
using their allocated crawl budget, and this could negatively affect your
indexation.
• Pages with a longer load time tend to have higher bounce rates and lower
average time on page. Longer load times have also been shown to
negatively affect conversions.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 63
Page Load Time – FCP vs LCP
• Both First Contentful Paint (FCP) and Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) are the user-
centric metric for measuring perceived load speed.
• FCP marks the first point in page load timeline where the user can see anything on
the screen—a fast FCP helps reassure the user that something is happening.
• LCP marks the point in page load timeline when the page's main content has likely
loaded—a fast LCP helps reassure the user that the page is useful.
• In the right load timeline, FCP
happens in the 2nd frame, as
that's when the first text and
image elements are rendered to
the screen.
• Good FCP Score: <= 1.8s
• Good LCP Score: <= 2.5s
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 64
Time to First Byte
• This time includes all processes from DNS (Domain Name System) lookup,
establishing a connection via TCP (Transmission Control Protocol) handshake—and
SSL handshake if active via HTTPS.
• The crux of TTFB is to evaluate the time it takes your website to respond to a user's
request.
• Ideally, Google recommends a TTFB
under 200ms (0.2s) for a good user
experience.
• If your TTFB falls between 300-500ms
(0.3-0.5s), you’re still doing well.
• But, if your TTFB is hovering around
600ms (0.6s), you need to check your
server.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Edgemesh 65
PageSpeed Insights (PSI)
• A free tool that analyzes the performance of your
webpages on mobile and desktop devices.
• And offers all 3 Core Web Vitals (CWVs), including
CWV Metrics
Largest Contentful Paint (LCP), Interaction to
Next Paint (INP), Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS),
to assess the quality of the user experience.
• Other notable metrics include:
• First Contentful Paint (FCP)
Performance
• Time to First Byte (TTFB) Score
• First Input Delay (FID): Measure interactivity,
specifically the time it takes for the website to
respond to the first user interaction, such as
clicking a button or a link. (Previously FID was
one of the three Core Web Vitals. INP replaced it
in March 2024)
• URL: pagespeed.web.dev
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 66
What is a Good PageSpeed Insights Score
• PageSpeed Insights gives your page a score for each of the following categories:
• Performance: A weighted average of the scores of FCP, LCP, CLS, Speed Index, and Total
Blocking Time (TBT), which indicates how well your page performs in terms of speed and
optimization.
• Accessibility: Assess factors such as ease of navigation, alt text for images, and colour
contrast for users with visual impairments.
• Best Practices: Measure how well your page adheres to web development best practices.
From using modern web technologies, optimized code, and secure connections, to including
essential meta tags and managing JavaScript effectively.
• SEO: Focus on how well your page is optimized for search engines, considering aspects such
as metadata, structured data, and mobile-friendliness.
• A score of 90 or above is good, 50 to 89 needs improvement, and below 50 is considered
poor, according to Google.
• If your score is below 90 across many pages, it’s possible your users are not having a good
experience. And there may be some negative SEO effects as well.
• But there’s no point in obsessing over a perfect score of 100—especially on every page.
Because visitors ultimately care about quickly finding information. Not your score.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 67
How PageSpeed Insights Score Affect SEO
• Google is not running your site through PSI and not using it to rank you. But
that score is partially based on page speed—a confirmed Google ranking
factor.
• Slow loading times frustrate users and lead them to abandon your site. But
visitors are more likely to stay and engage with your site if pages load quickly.
• This leads to a better user experience. And search engines reward sites that
provide a great page experience to visitors.
• So, improving your PSI score is likely to have a positive impact on your
search rankings.
• Note: While page speed is important, you should also focus on other factors
like content quality, backlinks, and technical SEO to rank high in search
results.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 68
Improve Page Speed
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 69
Minify CSS, JavaScript, and HTML
• Minifying means optimizing the code by removing unnecessary spaces, line
breaks, comments, or redundant data. The result is a “shorter” file version that
requires fewer bytes to download.
• Poor coding can be the cause of this problem, and Google recommends trying the
following resources to fix it:
• HTML minifier to minify HTML. URL: github.com/kangax/html-minifier
• CSSNano to minify CSS. URL: github.com/cssnano/cssnano
• UglifyJS2 to minify JavaScript. URL: github.com/mishoo/UglifyJS
Before After
© Copyright 2024 by 70
Larry Leung
Enable File Compression with Gzip
• The smaller your files, the faster your pages will load. Compressing files is one of the
easiest ways to reduce load times, and today, enabling compression with Gzip is
considered standard practice.
• Gzip is a file format and software application that essentially locates strings of similar
code in your text files, then temporarily replaces them to make the files smaller.
• Work well with text-based assets: CSS, JavaScript, HTML because these files
typically have repeated code and whitespace. According to Yahoo, this can reduce
download time by about 70%.
• If you’re not sure if your website has Gzip enabled, you can use an online tool
(cleverstat.com/check-gzip-compression) to check it.
• Learn more about optimizing with Gzip here:
developers.google.com/web/fundamentals/performance/optimizing-content-efficiency/
optimize-encoding-and-transfer#text-compression-with-gzip
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 71
Use Asynchronous & Defer Loading for CSS & JavaScript
• Every website is made up of CSS and JavaScript files. These scripts can load either
synchronously or asynchronously.
• Synchronously ( 同步 ) Loading:
• That means that the files load one at a time, in the order in which they appear on your web
page.
• With this method, when web browser encounters a script, it will stop loading other
elements on the page until that file has been fully loaded first.
• Asynchronous ( 異步 ) Loading:
• Enable multiple files to load at the same time, which can speed up page performance.
Setting this up involves eliminating render-blocking resources.
• Render-blocking resources are portions of code in webpage (usually CSS and JavaScript)
preventing a web page from loading quickly.
• When web browser encounters a link to a CSS file or a JavaScript file, it pauses the HTML
parsing ( 解析 ) to fetch and execute the code, which slows everything down.
• Sometimes this code is important to run on the first load, but much of the time it can be
removed or pushed until the very end of the queue.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 72
Prioritize Above-the-fold Content
• Page load time isn’t solely about how quickly your page loads. It’s also about
“perceived performance.”
• Perceived performance can be described as simply “how fast does your website
feel when it loads?” This can be slightly different than how fast your website actually
loads. Perceived performance is all from the perspective of the user, not from a
website speed test tool.
• To boost perceived performance, it’s crucial to prioritize the loading of content
important to the user. E.g., a page’s text above the fold should load before third-party
widgets.
• If the last elements on your page to load are the ones the user clicked through to see,
the page will feel like it loads longer – decrease perceived performance in the mind of
the user.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 73
Reduce Redirects
• Each time a page redirects to another page, your visitor faces additional
time waiting for the HTTP request-response cycle to complete.
• Example:
• If your mobile redirect pattern looks like this:
• example.com 🡪 www.example.com 🡪 m.example.com 🡪
m.example.com/home
• Then each of those 2 additional 301 redirects makes rendering comes to a halt
— which adds precious seconds to your page’s load time.
• Avoid redirects altogether by building your pages with responsive web
design — a method that ensures quality user experience no matter the
device your prospect is on.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 74
Speed Up Server Response Time
• Server Response Time: the time it takes for your server to begin loading a page’s
content for a user, which is measured by TTFB (time to first byte).
• Slow down by a number of factors according to Google including Database
Queries, Slow Routing, Frameworks, Libraries, Resource CPU Starvation, and
Memory Starvation.
• Poor web hosting was a major speed killer. Look for web hosting provider can offer
under 200ms (0.2s) server response time.
• Use website speed check tool like
GTmetix to measure the TTFB of your
web hosting.
• URL: gtmetrix.com
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 75
Speed Up Server Response Time – Methods
• Optimize Databases
• Rewriting your queries so that they return only what you need and are written with
performance in mind (e.g., use joins instead of loops)
• Using indexes where necessary or appropriate
• Changing your schema to group objects such as tables, views, and stored procedures
appropriately
• Use Browser Caching
• The first time a user visits your site, the server has to download JavaScript files, images,
the HTML document, and more.
• Caching is temporary storage that remembers some of these aspects so that the content
can be retrieved faster the next time the user visits.
• Caching allows your website to skip a lot of steps. Instead of going through the whole
page generation process every time, caching mechanism makes a copy of the page after
the first load, and then serves that cached version to every subsequent user.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 76
Choose Reliable & Fast Web Hosting
• Cloudways:
• All servers have dedicated resources.
• SSD drives and PHP-FPM to reduce page load times.
• Built-in caches where you can choose from options like Memcached, NGINX, Redis, or Varnish to
speed things up.
• You can choose from a wide variety of data center locations. Choices depend on the server
provider you choose. The choice goes from 8 to 20.
• Recommend to choose Linode hosting plans which start from US$14/mo.
• URL: www.cloudways.com/en/linode-hosting.php
• WP Engine:
• Use Google Cloud and AWS servers, and offer 20 data center options all over the world.
• Provide proprietary caching technology (Evercache).
• Includes a free CDN. This way, you are sure that your content is spread out all over the world for
quick and easy access.
• Since the provider specializes in managed WordPress hosting, it offers various customizations and
automatic updates for your WordPress site.
• WordPress hosting plans start from US$20/mo.
• URL: wpengine.com/plans/
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 77
Use Content Delivery Network (CDN)
• CDNs are networks of servers that are used to distribute the load of delivering content.
• When you use a CDN, your static content like images, CSS files, javascript files, and more, is
cached and stored on all of these servers spread around in different locations.
• CDN delivers that copy from servers located near the geographical location of your site
visitors.
• Cache your dynamic pages in your
CDN with proper TTL (Time to live)
value based on your application
behavior. Examples:
• TTL = 300 (5 mins)
• TTL = 1800 (30 mins)
• Note: you still need a web hosting account to keep your website files. The job of the CDN provider is to
keep the static resources of your website and not host your original website files.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: GTmetrix 78
Use Content Delivery Network – Recommended CDNs
• Fastly
• 55+ point of presences (PoPs) with load balancing that redirects traffic to the fastest routes.
• Web access firewall. DDoS protection. Bot protection. Image optimization.
• Provide WordPress integration through Fastly plugin.
• Pricing: Operate a pay-as-you-go model. Bill customers a minimum of US$50 per month.
• URL: www.fastly.com/pricing/
• StackPath
• 60 full-stack edge locations in 35 markets across 5 continents.
• Advanced DDoS protection. Web access firewall available. Gzip compression.
• Best for beginners and provide WordPress integration through W3 Total Cache plugin.
• Pricing: Need to ask
• URL: www.stackpath.com/products/cdn/
• NitroPack
• Amazon CloudFront CDN offers 217 PoPs in 84 cities across 6 continents.
• Minify HTML, CSS and JS files. Gzip and Brotli compression. Image optimization with lazy loading.
• Pricing: Start from US$17.5/month with 14-day money back guarantee.
• URL: nitropack.io/pricing
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 79
Local SEO
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 80
Top Ranking Factors for Local Search
• According to BrightLocal’s recent
study, top local ranking factors for Be- Personalization; 5%
havioural
ranking in Google Search are: Signals;
9%
• On-page Optimization NAP Ci-
tation
• Links Signals,
7% Google Business
Profile Signals,
• Google Business Profile 21%
• Reviews
• Behavioural (include CTR, mobile
On-Page Signals, Link Signals, 22%
clicks to call, and dwell time.) 25%
• NAP Citations (include location data,
NAP consistency, and citation volume.)
• Personalization (include search
Review Signals,
history, search location, and device.) 21%
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: BrightLocal 81
On-page Signals
▪ Google’s traditional ranking factors still 100% apply to local.
▪ In fact, Google confirmed that your rankings in the organic SERPs impact
your local rankings:
▪ "Your position in web results is also a factor, so SEO best practices also apply to
local search optimization."
▪ The higher you rank in the organic results, the higher you’ll rank in Google
Maps and local pack.
▪ Which is why creating on-page content and optimizing pages are still very
important for local SEO rankings.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 82
On-page Signals – Create Local Content
▪ Be the local authority for your industry by promoting local industry
gatherings, news, employees, and other educational content on your blog.
▪ When writing the posts, make sure to include local district & neighborhood
names wherever you can.
▪ Not everyone will use your city name when searching, so be sure you
include neighboring towns and districts, and unofficial terms that locals
may use.
▪ Include local news and happenings (e.g. an upcoming community event,
election, fair), which will not only boost your SEO but will also provide
useful information to your audience.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 83
On-page Signals – Localized Title & Meta Description
▪ Never waste space on page
names that don’t provide helpful
information.
▪ If you want to reach local
customers, include the name of
the city/district your business is in
and/or the area your business
serves.
▪ Focus on using one targeted
keyword and carefully place that
keyword as close to the beginning
of the tag as you can.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 84
Link Signals
▪ Links are still one of the largest ranking factors in Google’s algorithm (both in
organic ranking and in Google Maps).
▪ Local links are done with the intention to build relevance for a website towards
its locality.
▪ A local link should serve the following criteria:
▪ Link back to your website.
▪ Provide the opportunity to speak to your local audience.
▪ Those who influence your specific local market might not command a highly
authoritative site. They might be small themselves.
▪ But, because they have influence in your small market, getting a link from
them might be more valuable than from SCMP or The New York Times.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 85
Link Signals – Build Local Links
▪ Try to start with businesses that you already have a relationship with or know
well.
▪ Offer to write or record a testimonial in exchange for a link.
▪ Co-create a piece of content that benefits both of your audiences.
▪ Think about other businesses that you work closely with, or organizations that
you support.
▪ Here’s exactly how to do it:
▪ Create a list of niches that offer services that compliment (but don’t compete) with
your business.
▪ Consider how you might be able to incorporate these other companies into your
content outreach.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 86
Link Signals – Use Case of Local Link Building
▪ A carpet cleaning business may decide to create a really helpful piece of
content about cost-effective ways to increase a home’s value in a specific
market.
▪ Topics might include advice about landscaping, painting, and carpet
cleaning.
▪ Before writing the content, they could reach out to a few local painting,
landscaping, or home service businesses in the area and ask if those
businesses would be willing to collaborate on the content and perhaps add a
link to their resource pages.
▪ This process can also work even if you don’t have an existing relationship
with the business currently.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 87
Link Signals – Outreach Email Template
Hello [NAME],
My name is [YOUR NAME] from [BUSINESS]. We are actually business neighbors in a way, as
we are located not too far from you in [CITY]. I often pass by [THEIR BUSINESS] on my way to [LOCAL
LANDMARK/DESTINATION].
I thought it was finally time to reach out and say hello, and let you know that if there’s ever
anything you or your team need, please let us know.
Also, I am working on writing an article about [INSERT BLOG TOPIC HERE]. Since our
businesses both serve a similar audience and compliment each other nicely, I was wondering if you’d like
to be featured in the article?
I am going to include a section about [TOPIC ABOUT THEIR INDUSTRY], and would like to use
a sentence or two with your advice coming from the [THEIR INDUSTRY]. It might even make a great
addition to the resource page on your website. Please let me know if this is something you'd be
interested in.
Either way, thanks for your time, and great to meet you!
[YOUR NAME]
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 88
Review Signals
▪ Reviews show that consumers trust a business, and trust is a foundational
factor in ranking.
▪ 84% people trust online reviews as much as a personal recommendation.
▪ 7 out of 10 customers will leave a review for a business if asked by the business.
▪ Getting positive reviews on your GBP page is crucial because these reviews
show up on Google when someone searches for your business.
▪ Google probably also uses reviews on 3rd party sites (like Facebook).
▪ Many people turn to social media to see what their friends and family think about a
business, so having good reviews on your business’s Facebook page can help to
draw in prospective customers.
▪ 2 places where you should focus on getting reviews are your business’s
Google Business Profile & Facebook Page (or Facebook Locations).
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 89
Review Signals – Always Monitor Online Reviews
▪ “Review factor” is not simply a
measurement of who has the most
reviews, but Google also takes into
consideration many other aspects like:
▪ Whether a review has text along with the
star rating or not.
▪ Words chosen to write the review.
▪ Overall star rating given to the business.
▪ Consistency of reviews.
▪ Overall review sentiment.
▪ Always reply to your reviews – Monitor
the flow of reviews as well as comment,
and reply to those reviews as they
come in.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 90
Review Signals – Handle Bad Reviews
▪ A bad review give you the chance to
demonstrate your professionalism,
helping to mitigate any potential
damage.
▪ Handle bad reviews calmly. When you
get a bad review:
▪ Apologize, accept responsibility and offer
to make it right; even if it wasn’t your
fault.
▪ Not to get defensive or aggressive in
your reply.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 91
NAP Citation Signals
• Citations are places where your Name, Address and Phone number (NAP) are all
listed out. Google uses NAPs to confirm that all of your business info is correct.
• Structured citations, which are listings
made by a business on relevant
directories and third-party websites,
are the most common type.
• The more often Google see NAP
citations for your business, the more
confident they are that your address is
where you say it is and that your
phone number is correct.
• This is why you want to get consistent
NAP citations on as many reputable
websites as you can.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 92
NAP Citation Signals – Contact Page
• On your “Contact Us” page, make sure you clearly show your company “NAP:”
• Name
• Address
• Phone Number
• 76% of local searches result in a
phone call, so make sure your
phone number is clickable. Format
Example:
• <a href="tel:+85239999999">+852
3999 9999</a>
• Get big time bonus points if you
add a Google Map to your website
on your respective location NAP in
Text
page(s). Format
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 93
Google Business Profile
(GBP)
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 94
What is Google Business Profile (GBP)
• GBP (formerly Google My Business) is a free online tool that powers
Google's business listings and that gives your business the opportunity to
show on Local Pack, as well as appear in a number of different results and
manage how their information is displayed on each.
• A platform that every local business owner should be aware of and using
given that the information which you submit to your listing can appear in a
number of different ways on the search engine, including the Knowledge
Panel, the Local Pack, and Google Maps.
• Features include:
• Adding your business name, location, and hours;
• Monitoring and replying to customer reviews;
• Adding photos;
• Learning where and how people are searching for you.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 95
Desktop
Google Knowledge Panel
Mobile • An information box that appears
to the top-right of desktop
SERPs or near the top of the
page on mobile search results
when someone runs a search
specifically for your business.
• Display key information,
including your address, hours of
operation, phone number,
website, link to directions, and
other important information
depending on your industry.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 96
Desktop
Google Local Pack
Mobile • These are the 3 business listing
results that appear under the
map when a user runs a local
search.
Google Local Finder
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 97
Google Maps
Mobile • Both app and desktop & mobile web
versions is intended to help those looking
for directions as well as to discover
businesses and locations.
Desktop
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 98
Create GBP Account
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 99
Step 01. Head to Google Business Profile
• Go to www.google.com/business/ and select “Manage Now” button.
• Log into the Google Account you want associated with your business (or create a
Google Account if you don’t already have one).
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 100
Step 02. Input Business Name
• Enter the name of your business. You may also be able to select your business from
the list of suggested businesses as you type.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 101
Step 03. Choose Business Type
• There are 3 options including “Online retail”, “Local store”, and “Service business.”
• If you operate from a physical location like a store or office customers can visit you, should
select the “Local store” option.
• Typical examples of local businesses with a physical location would be dentists, or
restaurant.
• Then, choose the category that best describes your business.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 102
Step 04. Add Your Address & Phone Number
• You will be asked to enter your business address. When finished, click “Next.”
• The next screen lets you add your phone number and current website URL. When
finished, click “Next.”
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 103
Step 05. Agree to Terms & Conditions
• After you have input phone number and website URL, the next prompts is an
interstitial page Google requests you to agree to the terms and conditions.
• Just click on “Continue” button. This will take you to GBP verification step.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 104
Step 06. Verify Your Business on Google
• When you add or claim your profile, you can verify it through phone or text, email, or
video. Available methods depend on business category, public info, region, support
hours, and volumes.
• Pick a type of verification.
• If you choose “Phone or SMS”, then
answer the call or open the text with the
code. In your GBP account, enter the
code.
• If you choose “Mail”, Google send you a
verification code by mail. To confirm that
your business is at the listed address,
you must enter your unique code. If you
edit your info or request a new code,
Google cancel the code in the mail and
send a new one. This action protects
integrity of your profile.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 105
Step 07. Add Your Services
• Depending on the business category you have chosen, Google might suggest a
range of common services your business provides.
• If you feel some of them don't
apply to your business, you can
click on “+ Add custom service”
to input your specific services.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 106
Step 08. Add Business Hour
• You should enter your opening
hours to your GBP account.
• Note that you must display
accurate business hours, so
customers know when they can
visit or contact you.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 107
Step 09. Turn on Messaging
• Consumers who find your Google listing can get in touch with your business by messaging
you directly from it.
• When creating a Google
Business Profile for the
first time, this messaging
feature will be turned on
by default. It helps to drive
additional leads to your
business.
• You must answer
messages in a timely
manner otherwise Google
will automatically turn off
this option.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Commbox 108
Step 10. Add Business Description
• If you don't what to write, think of your description as the equivalent of the
about us page on your website.
• You can include a brief summary
of what you offer, what makes
you different from your
competitors, or a little bit about
your business history.
• You can only enter 750
characters that is equal to 375
Chinese words.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 109
Step 11. Add Photos of Your Business
• Photos are a great way of visually representing your business. They will help
your listing stand out in search results and attract more clicks.
• Photos can also help you showcase
your products or services as well as
your physical location.
• Don't use photos from free stock
photo website as they don't look
genuine. Use original photos that
truly represent your business.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 110
Step 12. Go to GBP Dashboard
• When you get to the final screen “You edits will be visible once you’re verified”, you just click
on “Continue” button.
• Congratulations! Your Google Business Profile is created, and you should be redirected to a
Google Search screen that includes a brief summary of your listing along with a dashboard
you can use to update and enhance your profile.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 111
Optimize
GBP with Images
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 112
Standout with Images
• For restaurants, café, and hotels, this is a great place to showcase your space.
• For retailers, add your products directly to your Google Business Profile listing.
• For service providers, try to include media about successful tasks you’ve
completed.
• What’s great about this option is that these products actually show up directly
in your listing. That means potential customers don’t have to go through your
site to see if you’re offering what they’re looking for.
• Businesses with photos see 35% more clicks to their website and 42% higher
requests for driving directions in Google Maps, according to Google.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 113
Types of Photo for GBP
• Logo – Help your customers recognize your business on Google. For businesses
that have their basic information, such as a phone number or hours of operation, the
Business Profile highlights the logo.
• Cover Photo – Set a cover photo at the top of your profile that best represents your
business. In some instances, this action doesn’t guarantee the cover photo will show
up as the first image for your business.
• Business Photos – Add different photos to highlight features of your business to
attract and inform customers.
• Your photos look best on Google if they meet the following standards:
• Format: JPG or PNG.
• Size: Between 10 KB and 5 MB.
• Recommended Resolution: 720 px tall, 720 px wide.
• Quality: Have to be in focus and well lit, and have no significant alterations or excessive
use of filters. In other words, the image should represent reality.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 114
Recommended Business Photos for Your GBP
Type Description Recommended Minimum Suggestions
Use pictures from different times of day
The outside of your business from (morning, afternoon, evening) so
Exterior 3 photos
different directions. customers always recognize your
business.
Give customers an accurate idea of
The inside of your business, with a
Interior 3 photos what it will look like to stand or sit
focus on decor and ambiance.
inside your business.
A representation of the types of 1 photo per product Show the products you're known for
Product
products or services you offer. type or service and make sure the photos are lit well.
Food & drink photos add color and Add at least 3 photos of
Food & Showcase the food items that are most
detail to your menu and help the food or drinks you
Drink popular for your business.
customers plan where to eat. serve.
Add at least 3 photos
Photos help customers quickly
Photos at that are representative Capture photos of your team providing
understand the type of work you
Work of the services you different types of service to customers.
do.
offer.
A shot of your management team Use pictures that show your unique
Team 3 photos
and staff. culture and team personality.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 115
Case Study – Photos on Apt. Coffee’s GBP
Cover
Photo
Logo
Business
Photo
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 116
GBP Performance Reports
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 117
Find GBP Performance Report
• On Google Search, search for “Your business name.”
• When GBP dashboard is displayed on Google Search result page, click on
“Performance” icon from dashboard.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 118
How People Interacted with You
• At the top, select a date range for your report and click on “Apply.”
• See the total number of interactions with your profile at a glance (all of the calls, directions,
bookings, and website clicks) for your desired time period (data goes back 6 months).
© Copyright 2024 by 119
Larry Leung
How People Interacted with You – Customer Actions
• Overview: A summary of all your total interactions.
• Calls: Number of clicks on the call button on your Business Profile. Provide your
phone number to start tracking this metric.
• Messages: Number of unique conversations through messages.
• Bookings: Number of completed
bookings by customers.
• Direction Requests: Number and
location of unique customers who
request directions to your business.
• Website Clicks: Number of clicks on
the website link on your Business
Profile.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 120
How People Discovered You
• People Viewed Your Business Profile: Represent the number of people who have viewed
your Business Profile. It provides a breakdown by device, like computer and mobile, or by
platform, like Search or Maps.
• Searches: Queries people used to find your business. This data is updated at the beginning
of each month. Updates may take 5 days to show up.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 121
Understand Schema Markup
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 122
What is Schema Markup
• A structured data vocabulary that helps search
engines better understand the info on your website
in order to serve rich results (rich snippets).
• This piece of code are added to the HTML for your
website. It describes the main entities found on the
page in a format that is easily digestible by search
engines.
• Once this web page is crawled, Google can tell
what’s the name of the article, who’s the author, and
when it was published.
• Schema.org, the website for schema markup, is a
collaborative effort by the teams at Google, Bing,
and Yahoo.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 123
Benefits of Schema Markup
• Schema markup cannot help your site appear
higher in search rankings.
• But using Schema markup can:
• Improve the appearance of your search result via
rich snippets.
• Enable you to appear for relevant queries where
you may not have, had Google not understood
the relevance of your page.
• Increase time on page as you are exposed to
more relevant queries and users discover more
engaging content.
• Make your local business stand out with rich
results (particularly positive product reviews)
that can significantly improve your click-through
rate.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 124
Types of Schema Markup
• There is a ton of different types of Schema
markups. Full list of items that the markups
can define can be found on schema.org.
• Schema said that the most commonly used
markups include:
• Articles
• Local businesses
• Restaurants
• TV episodes and ratings
• Book reviews
• Movies
• Software applications
• Events
• Products
• Frequently asked questions (FAQ)
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 125
Examples of Schema Markup
Here is the result of a page implementing the
schema markup for Movies – you can see the
showtimes & locations for “Top Gun: Maverick”
that were marked up accordingly.
Here is an example of Products schema with
review rich results as a result of schema markup.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 126
Add Schema Markup
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 127
Step 01. Head to Structured Data Markup Helper
• Log into Search Console, go to www.google.com/webmasters/markup-helper/ to open
“Structured Data Markup Helper.”
• Select the “Website” tab, then choose the type of page that you are marking up.
• Enter the URL of an existing web page, then click on “Start Tagging” button.
Google selects 12 data
types from Schema.org
as structured-data
markups for websites.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 128
Step 02. Identify Type of On-page Information
• Highlight parts of the page with important, then identify the type of information in the dropdown
that appears.
• In “My Data Items” panel, you will see a list of all possible values for each item, with the
required values labeled. E.g., for a local business you must provide a shop name, location,
and opening hours.
• When you have
finished tagging all
the appropriate data
on the page, select
“Create HTML”
button to generate
the page code.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 129
Step 03. Copy & Paste Structured Data Code
• Choose an output format: the default is JSON-LD (preferred by Google).
• Copy the code from the output window, then paste the generated code into the body
of your existing web page.
Copy &
paste this
generated
code into
your site.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 130
Step 04. Test Structured Data Code
• To test the generated code, copy and paste it into the Rich Result test, which will
show you any missing fields you need to fill in.
• It may take a few weeks for Google to crawl your new page, but once it does it can
be shown in rich snippets.
• URL: search.google.com/test/rich-results
© Copyright 2024 by 131
Larry Leung
Tips – Check Competitor Code
• Submit the URL of the competitors’ web
page to run rich result test.
• The test shows which rich result types
were found on the page, as well as any
errors or suggestions for the structured
data.
• If there are errors or warnings, expand
the individual item to see details. Any
items found, whether good, with
warnings or errors, or unparseable, will
be listed here, along with a description
of the item and any issues.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 132
Unparsable Structured Data Report in Search Console
• Aggregate parsing issues such as structured data syntax errors that prevented
Google from identifying the feature type.
• Check this report to see if Google was unable to parse any of the structured data you
tried to add to your site. Parsing issues could point you to lost opportunities for rich
results for your site.
© Copyright 2024 by 133
Larry Leung
Mobile Advertising
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 134
Share of Digital Advertising by Device in 2024
• Mobile ad revenue accounted for 51.2% of HK's total digital ad revenue while
desktop ad revenue accounted for 48.8%.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: We Are Social 135
Mobile Advertising Strategy
1. Start with a Mobile Friendly Website
2. Create Mobile Ads
3. Set Up Targeting for Mobile
4. Bid Higher for Mobile
5. Bid Higher for Location
6. Use Location Assets (Extension) to show Local Search Ads to Promote
Local Businesses
7. Create Performance Max Campaign for Store Goal to Promote Physical
Stores
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 136
Create Mobile Ad – Upload Display Ads
• Make sure to use the accepted sizes for Upload Display Ad images:
• Mobile Phone: 320 x 50, 300 x 250, 320 x 480
• Tablet: 300 x 600, 728 x 90, 728 x 1024
• One of the most popular banner sizes is a 320×50 mobile ad.
• Or create Responsive Display Ads that Google assembles automatically adjust their
size, appearance, and format to fit just about any available mobile ad space.
• Mobile ad banners design requires a
careful balance between eye-catching and
bringing too distracting experience.
• Best mobile banner ads should highlight
key features or provide an offer with a
clear and compelling call-to-action without
too much text though.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Adpushup 137
Targeting for Mobile – Head to Devices Settings
• Choose “Campaigns” from left menu > Click on “Settings” tab > Select the name of
ad campaign you want to edit.
• Hit “Additional Settings” > Select "Devices.“
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 138
Targeting for Mobile – Set Specific Targeting for Devices
• Choose “Set specific targeting for
devices.”
• The section should expand and
you’ll be able to choose device
categories: Target users who are
using “Mobile phones”, “Tablets”,
or “Computers”.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 139
Targeting for Mobile – Further Select Other Targeting
Operating Systems: Device Models: Networks:
• Choose to show your • Choose to show your ads to • Carriers: Target users who are
ads to people on all people on all device brands using a certain carrier.
operating systems or and versions or target • Wi-Fi: Show ads to people on
target specific ones. specific ones. Wi-Fi networks.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 140
Bid Higher for Mobile
• To alter your bids when your ads appear on mobile devices, you can specify
a mobile bid adjustment at the campaign or ad group level.
• Bid adjustments are set by percentages. Example:
• Say you've got a campaign that performs well on mobile devices with a max
CPC bid of HK$100.
• To show your ad to more customers on mobile devices, you increase your bid
by 20% for searches on mobile devices, resulting in a final bid amount of
HK$120.
• Starting bid: $100
• Mobile adjustment: $100 + ($100 x 20%) = $120
• Resulting bid for searches on mobile devices: $120
• To find the right mobile bid, you would calculate:
• (mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) – 1
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 141
Bid Higher for Mobile – Navigate to Devices Tab
• Choose “Insights and reports” from left menu > Click on “Where and when ads
showed” > Select “Devices” tab.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 142
Bid Higher for Mobile – Modify Bid Adjustment
• Under “Devices” tab, you find that every campaign is broken into “Computers”, “Mobile
phones”, and “Tablets”.
• Click on “Bid adj.” (Bid adjustment) cell of the ad campaign with “Mobile phones” device you
want to edit.
• Enter the decreased or increase percentage from -90% to +900%, and click “Save” button.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 143
Bid Higher for Location – Go to Locations Tab
• Show your ad more or less frequently to customers in certain countries,
cities, regions, or districts.
• Select “Audiences,
keywords, and content” in
the left menu > Click
”Locations.”
• You can see that ad
campaigns are broken into
different locations.
• Click on “Bid adj.” cell of
the ad campaign with
specific location you want
to edit.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 144
Bid Higher for Location – Modify Bid Adjustment
• Enter the decrease or increase percentage from -90% to +900%.
• Then, click “Save” button to confirm.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 145
Google Local Search Ads
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 146
Show Location Assets on Google Search Result
Pages
• With location assets, your ads can display your address,
a map to your location or the distance to your business,
to help people find and visit your shops.
• Use Case of Location Asset:
• Mary, a bakery owner, wants to draw foot traffic to her
shopfront. She adds a location asset to her ad
campaign.
• When people nearby search on mobile for one of her
keywords ('best bakery nearby' or 'fresh bread'), her
asset is eligible to show and may give bread-lovers:
• Distance to her location and its city (mobile);
• Her location's street address (computer);
• A clickable 'Call' button;
• Clickable access to a details page for her location –
with information such as hours, phone number, photos
and directions.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: Search Scientist 147
Show Local Search Ad on Google Maps
• When people search for nearby businesses on
Google Maps, they may see local search ads that
feature your business locations.
1. Enable location assets (extensions) for your Google
Ads account.
2. Set up or update your Business Profile listing.
3. Use location targeting and bid by location. Target a
specific location and set bids by location, so that
your bids increase for people located near your
business.
4. Optimize your keywords. Use keywords in your
campaigns that relate to your location and what
people are searching for locally.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 148
Understand
Performance Max
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 149
What is Performance Max
• A goal-based campaign type that allows performance advertisers to access all of their
Google Ads inventory from a single campaign.
• Be designed to complement your keyword-based Search campaigns to help you find
more converting customers across all of Google's channels like YouTube, Display,
Search, Discover, Gmail, and Maps.
• Help you drive performance based on your specified conversion goals, delivering
more conversions and value by optimizing performance in real-time and across
channels using Smart Bidding.
• Performance Max uses Google AI across bidding, budget optimization, audiences,
creatives, and more. They're all empowered by your specific advertising objective,
e.g., if you have a CPA or ROAS target, and the creative assets, audience signals,
and optional data feeds you provide.
• Performance Max will show as a campaign type selection if your objective is “Sales”,
“Leads”, or “Local shop visits and promotions”.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 150
Performance Max is Powered by Google AI
• Google AI powers Performance Max to maximize your campaign’s performance.
• You add your unique expertise such as budget, business goals, and conversions that you
want to measure.
• Google AI will then find potential customers for your goals and serve the most appropriate
ad, with the optimal bid, to maximize campaign performance.
• Smart Bidding helps to determine the best options for your campaign across all
Google inventory and to determine bids on the auctions that have the highest
probability of meeting your business goals in real-time.
• You can provide important inputs like audience signals, including your customer data,
and high quality text, images, and video that can significantly improve your
Performance Max campaign performance.
• You can also provide important inputs about what types of conversions are most
valuable to your business by applying conversion values and setting value rules.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 151
Benefits of Performance Max
• Find More Converting Customers
• Performance Max allows you to engage customers across Google's channels.
• With Google’s real-time understanding of consumer intents and preferences, paired with
your input using audience signals, Performance Max can unlock new customer segments
you may not have expected.
• Drive More Value
• Google AI is used to make more accurate predictions about which ads, audiences, and
creative combinations perform best for you, and optimizes for the most incremental
touchpoints that drive customers to conversion.
• Acquire Rich Insights
• Performance Max asset reporting can help you understand which creatives are impacting
performance and help you optimize campaign creatives to drive ROI.
• New insights, such as rising search trends, can help you understand changes in
performance and inform your broader business strategy.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 152
When to Use Performance Max
• You have specific advertising and conversion goals. E.g., driving online sales,
lead generation, and others.
• You want to maximize the performance of your campaign, and you aren't
limited by which channel your ads appear on.
• You want to easily access all of Google’s advertising channels using a single
campaign.
• You want to gain additional reach and conversion value beyond keyword-
based Search campaigns.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 153
Performance Max for Store
Goal
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 154
What is Performance Max Campaign for Store Goal
• Be designed to help businesses provide their potential customers the information that
they need to decide when and how to visit their stores.
• Streamline the process for you, making it easy to promote your stores across
Google’s largest properties including the Google Search Network, Maps, YouTube,
Gmail, and the Google Display Network.
• Add a few lines of text, creative assets, and a budget, and the rest is optimized to
help customers find you. Using these inputs, Google AI optimizes bids, ad
placements, and asset combinations.
• Aim to maximize your in-store value and conversions (using store visits, store sales,
call clicks, or direction clicks) and promote your locations across Google properties
and networks.
• Use radius targeting for the Business Profile locations.
• Radius can vary depending on the targeted locations and a user’s preference of travel
distance to them.
• Other factors that determine targeted radius include: vertical, population density, and
existence of competitors.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 155
Where Your Ads can Appear
• Google Maps: When customers search for businesses or explore a local area within
Google Maps, Google matches these actions to your business’ location. Anyone on their
mobile device who is located nearby or shows interest in your location may view your ad.
• Google Search Network: Google matches your ad to search terms that are relevant to
your business and its location on two store centric formats on Google.com
• YouTube: Google Ads can show your ads on YouTube where they're most likely to
engage potential in-store customers.
• Google Display Network: Your ads are eligible to appear where they're most relevant on
the Google Display Network.
• Google Business Profile: Help you utilize the Business Profile page to highlight special
in-store offers and products to customers and location attributes to encourage users to
visit.
• Gmail: Your Performance Max campaigns for store goals ads can reach users on Gmail
across mobile surfaces.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 156
Step 01. Add New Campaign
• Sign in to your Google Ads account > Click “Create” from the left menu > Select
“Campaign” from dropdown menu.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 157
Step 02. Select Local Objective & Performance Max
• In the “Choose Your Objective”
window, select “Local shop
visits and promotions”, and
then choose “Performance Max”
as your campaign type.
• Any advertiser with store goals
and local contacts or directions
set up as a conversion goal can
create a Performance Max
campaign.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 158
Step 03. Set Conversion Goals
• Confirm the conversion goals
for store goals campaign:
• Store visits;
• Contacts (Google hosted);
• Get directions.
• Your account goals will be
default prepopulated, but you
can remove these or add new
store goals.
• Accounts eligible for store visits will not be able to remove store visits as a goal in the
“Local shop visits and promotions” for store goals campaign creation option.
• Note: If you wish to only optimize towards local actions (contacts or get directions),
despite being eligible for store visits (recommended), select “Create a campaign
without a goal’s guidance.”
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 159
Step 04. Choose Store Location
• In the “Campaign Feeds”
section, select which store
locations to target.
• For Google Business Profile,
select “Your business
locations,” then click “Link
Account” button.
• Note: Location targeting will be inferred based on the physical business
locations specified for your campaign, and therefore is not recommended
when store goals are applied. If needed, you can exclude certain geographic
locations from your campaign.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 160
Step 05. Link Google Ads Account to Business Profile
• Select “Link to a Business Profile
Manager account I know.”
• “Select a Business Manager
account” will show your Gmail
account that has registered for your
Google Business Profile Manager
account.
• If it is correct, click “Continue.”
Then, this Business Profile location
will serve as your shop location in
Google Ads.
• To use this option, you will need
access to Business Profile account
that lists your locations.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 161
Step 06. Name Your Campaign
• Give your campaign a descriptive name, then click “Continue” button.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 162
Step 07. Set Your Budget and Bidding
• In the "Budget and bidding" section,
enter the average amount you want
to spend each day.
• Scroll to the “Bidding” section and
select a bid strategy:
• Conversions: If you select the
checkbox for “Set a target cost per
action”, the campaign will try to meet
the Target CPA you enter.
• Conversion Value: If you select the
checkbox for “Set a target return on
ad spend”, the campaign will try to
meet the Target ROAS you enter.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 163
Step 08. Add Languages
• Under “Languages”, select language
you want your ads to serve in.
• “Final URL expansion” will default to be
enabled, but will not applied to
campaigns optimizing to store goals
only.
• Note: In Performance Max campaigns,
use Final URL expansion to replace your
Final URL with a more relevant landing
page based on the user's search query
and intent, and to generate a dynamic
ad headline, description and assets to
match your landing page content.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 164
Step 09. Create Ad Copy
• On the “Asset Group” page, enter a
unique asset group name.
• Build your asset group by adding the
following details:
• Images
• Logos
• Videos
• Headlines
• Long Headlines
• Descriptions
• Call to Action
• Business Name
• Ad URL Options
• Final URL
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 165
Step 09. Create Ad Copy – Recommended Assets
Asset Recommended Asset Guidelines
Images Add up to 15 images.
Logos Add up to 5 logos.
Videos Add up to 5 videos. If you choose to upload horizontal videos, they may be cropped or
rotated to be able to serve in square or vertical formats.
Note: If you do not upload a video, one will be auto-generated from the other creative
assets in your asset group.
Headlines Add up to 5 headlines (maximum 30 characters).
Long Headlines Add up to 5 long headlines (maximum 90 characters).
Descriptions Add 1 short description with maximum 60 characters and up to 4 descriptions with
maximum 90 characters each.
Call to Action Select a call to action that aligns with your goals such as “shop now” or “subscribe”.
Business Name Add name of your business or brand, which appears in the text of your ad.
Ad URL options Add the pathway for your display URL and choose a different final URL for mobile.
Final URL Your ads will be directed to the Final URL.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 166
Step 10. Add Audience signals
• Although adding audience signals is optional, using audience signals can help you
guide machine learning models on the ideal way to optimize your campaign for your
selected goals.
• Click “Add an Audience Signal”, then Select “All Users” as audience.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 167
Step 11. Review & Publish Campaign
• Before you finish setting
up your campaign, you'll
be taken to a review
summary with the details
of your new campaign.
• Click on “Publish
Campaign” to complete
the process.
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 168
Case Study – Dentist Store Goal Campaign
Google Google
Google
Local Business
Maps – Get
Ad Profile
Directions
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 169
Google Mobile Ads
Statistics
CERTIFICATE IN DIGITAL MARKETING
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung 170
Mobile Click-Through Rate in Google Ads by Industry
Industry Average CTR (Search) Average CTR (Display) • Average CTR:
Arts & Entertainment 5.01% 0.84% • Search Ad: 4.10%
Automotive Service & Repair 3.76% 0.36% • Display Ad: 0.60%
Business Services 3.60% 0.55%
• If desktop is factored in,
Computers & Electronics 3.70% 0.60%
CTRs across search
Construction 3.52% 0.50%
and display are both
Consulting 3.99% 0.54%
lower—3.17% and
Education 4.45% 0.50%
0.46%, respectively—
Finance 4.57% 0.53%
than mobile-exclusive
Hair Salons 5.00% 0.93%
Healthcare 3.79% 0.51%
click-through rates.
Home & Garden 3.50% 0.76%
Internet & Telecom 3.05% 0.57%
Law/Legal 3.48% 0.64%
Manufacturing 4.13% 0.53%
Non-profits 4.09% 0.70%
Retail 4.25% 0.57%
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: WordStream 171
Mobile Cost Per Click in Google Ads by Industry
Industry Average CPC (Search) Averag CPC (Display) • Average CPC:
Arts & Entertainment US$1.01(HK$7.88) US$0.41(HK$3.20) • Search Ad: US$2.67
Automotive Service & Repair US$3.67(HK$28.63) US$0.54(HK$4.21) (HK$20.83)
• Display Ad: US$0.60
Business Services US$3.15(HK$24.57) US$0.66(HK$5.15)
(HK$4.68)
Computers & Electronics US$1.88(HK$14.66) US$0.49(HK$3.82)
Construction US$3.66(HK$28.55) US$0.62(HK$4.84) • Desktop-inclusive CPCs
Consulting US$2.52(HK$19.66) US$0.59(HK$4.60) for search and display
Education US$2.85(HK$22.23) US$0.64(HK$4.99) (US$2.69 and US$0.63,
Finance US$2.87(HK$22.39) US$0.69(HK$5.38) respectively) would
Hair Salons US$2.25(HK$17.55) US$0.48(HK$3.74) suggest that mobile
Healthcare US$3.24(HK$25.27) US$0.68(HK$5.30) does not represent a
Home & Garden US$2.68(HK$20.90) US$0.81(HK$6.32) huge departure from
Internet & Telecom US$2.90(HK$22.62) US$0.57(HK$4.45)
desktop in terms of
Law/Legal US$4.85(HK$37.83) US$0.73(HK$5.69)
industry-wide CPCs.
Manufacturing US$1.92(HK$14.98) US$0.57(HK$4.45)
Non-profits US$1.90(HK$14.82) US$0.64(HK$4.99)
Retail US$2.11(HK$16.46) US$0.58(HK$4.52)
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: WordStream 172
Mobile Conversion Rate in Google Ads by Industry
Industry Average CVR (Search) Average CVR (Display) • Average CVR:
Arts & Entertainment 3.54% 1.36% • Search Ad: 3.48%
Automotive Service & Repair 4.06% 0.47% • Display Ad: 0.72%
Business Services 3.16% 0.43%
• Desktop-inclusive CVRs
Computers & Electronics 1.92% 0.31%
for search and display
Construction 4.64% 0.74% (3.75% and 0.77%,
Consulting 2.04% 0.30% respectively) suggest
Education 2.82% 0.22% that, in general, CVRs
Finance 3.50% 0.41% are still a little lower on
Hair Salons 5.95% 4.45% mobile devices.
Healthcare 4.24% 0.80%
Home & Garden 2.21% 0.50%
Internet & Telecom 3.33% 0.35%
Law/Legal 6.95% 0.31%
Manufacturing 2.28% 0.54%
Non-profits 2.63% 0.37%
Retail 3.11% 0.49%
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: WordStream 173
Mobile Cost Per Action in Google Ads by Industry
Industry Average CPA (Search) Average CPA (Display) • Average CPA:
Arts & Entertainment US$22.96(HK$179.09) US$49.42(HK$385.48) • Search Ad:
US$80.89
Automotive Service & Repair US$50.54(HK$394.21) US$85.91(HK$670.10)
(HK$630.94)
Business Services US$125.60(HK$979.68) US$132.17(HK$1,030.93) • Display Ad:
Computers & Electronics US$95.13(HK$742.01) US$174.83(HK$1,363.67) US$148.68
(HK$1,159.7)
Construction US$93.16(HK$726.65) US$104.84(HK$817.75)
Consulting US$117.75(HK$918.45) US$258.46(HK$2,015.99) • Desktop-inclusive
Education US$108.60(HK$847.08) US$284.78(HK$2,221.28) CPAs for search and
Finance US$82.58(HK$644.12) US$144.87(HK$1,129.99) display (US$48.96
Hair Salons US$19.35(HK$150.93) US$170.64(HK$1,330.99) and US$75.51
Healthcare US$95.92(HK$748.18) US$99.05(HK$772.59) respectively) suggest
Home & Garden US$105.99(HK$826.72) US$156.81(HK$1,223.12) that CPAs are much
US$140.40(HK$1,095.12 higher on mobile
Internet & Telecom US$154.26(HK$1,203.23)
) devices.
Law/Legal US$54.68(HK426.50) US$127.45(HK$994.11)
Manufacturing US$82.73(HK$645.29) US$120.37(HK$938.89)
Non-profits US$81.70(HK$637.26) US$308.00(HK$2,402.40)
Retail
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung
US$55.38(HK$431.96) US$75.91(HK$592.10) Source: WordStream 174
Question?
If you have any question,
please feel free to ask me.
Email:
rondo.mak@fevaworks.net
© Copyright 2024 by Larry Leung Source: ShutterStock 175